North Carolina State Wolfpack

NC State is a founding member of the Atlantic Coast Conference and has won eight national championships, and two NCAA championships.
NC State athletic teams are nicknamed the Wolfpack. The name was adopted in 1921 when a disgruntled fan described the behavior of some of the school's football players as being "as unruly as a pack of wolves".
Most NC State fans and athletes recognize the rivalry with the North Carolina Tar Heels as their biggest. The intensity of the game is driven by the universities' similar size, the fact the schools are separated by only 25 miles, and the large number of alumni that live within the state's borders. Both are charter members of the Atlantic Coast Conference and are part of the Tobacco Road schools. Both schools are also known for their basketball history. They have won seven national championships between them (North Carolina 5, NC State 2), and 27 of the past 57 ACC Tournaments (North Carolina 17, NC State 10).